URL: https://esimgo.in/roaming/jio-vs-airtel-vs-vi/
Source: eSIM Go (esimgo.in)
Author: Nadezhda Semenova, entrepreneur, co-founder of the Trippy travel service, https://esimgo.in/author/
Updated: 12 Oct 2026

# Jio vs Airtel vs Vi international roaming: which pack for which trip (12 Oct 2026)

Jio vs Airtel international roaming has no all-trip winner, and neither has Vi. On 12 Oct 2026 Jio sells 12 GB for 15 days in the US at ₹1,555, about ₹130 per GB. Airtel sells 6 GB for 10 days at ₹1,298, about ₹216 per GB. Vi's ₹3,495 Ultra pack lists data as FREE for 7 days in 40 countries.

We sell travel eSIMs, so we have an interest here. The table still shows when your operator pack is the better choice. eSIM Go is not affiliated with Jio, Airtel, Vi or BSNL. Pack details are taken from their own pages on the date shown.

## Short answer: which operator's pack fits which trip

Our test: the shortest pack from each operator that lasts the whole trip, ranked by price per GB, with Vi's FREE-data rows left out. On that test Jio wins the US and Japan trips plus 30 days in Saudi Arabia, and Airtel wins the UAE, Thailand, Nepal and the Maldives. Vi alone sells a 40-day Haj pack. Rows checked 13 Oct 2026.

| Trip | Pick | Why (₹ as listed 12 Oct 2026; roaming charges per GB = our division of price by data) |
|---|---|---|
| 4–5 days, UAE | Airtel ₹998 · 5 days | 4 GB, about ₹250 per GB; Vi ₹2,695 · 4 days is about ₹674. Jio's ₹951 · 10 days · 4 GB is about ₹238 if you use the extra days |
| 7 days, Thailand | Airtel ₹1,298 · 10 days; Jio ₹599 if 1 GB is enough | Airtel about ₹216 per GB; Jio's ₹951 pack with calls about ₹238; Jio's ₹599 has no calls |
| 14 days, Japan | Jio ₹1,551 · 14 days | 8 GB, about ₹194 per GB; Airtel needs its 30-day pack, about ₹300 |
| 15 days, USA | Jio ₹1,555 · 15 days | 12 GB, about ₹130 per GB; Vi Ultra ₹5,195 lists data as FREE but lasts 14 days |
| 20–40 days, Hajj or Umrah | Jio for 30 days; Vi Haj for 40 | Jio ₹2,891 and Airtel ₹2,998 both give 10 GB, about ₹289 and ₹300 per GB, about the same; Jio's ₹3,999 · 20 GB is about ₹200; Vi Haj ₹2,388 gives 4 GB |
| 7 days, Nepal | Airtel ₹1,298 · 10 days; Jio ₹599 if 1 GB is enough | Same arithmetic as Thailand; Jio has no 7-day Nepal pack with calls |
| Maldives, Bhutan or Georgia | Airtel ₹998 · 5 days or ₹1,298 · 10 days | Jio sells no data pack for these three; Vi Ultra ₹3,495 gives 2 GB there |
| Several trips a year | Airtel ₹4,999 · 365 days | 7 GB, about ₹714 per GB; its 365 days run from purchase. Jio Annual gives 3 GB |

The [pack vs eSIM calculator](/roaming/#roaming-calculator) sets these rows beside an eSIM price. Full tables: [Jio](/roaming/jio/), [Airtel](/roaming/airtel/), [Vi](/roaming/vi/).

## Trip by trip: Jio, Airtel and Vi rows side by side

Jio vs Airtel international roaming looks different on every route. Every cell is one international roaming pack as the operator lists it on 12 Oct 2026: price, days, data. Where a trip needs the next pack up, the cell says so. The last column is our data eSIM for the same trip; it has no minutes and no SMS. For the UAE, the [UAE eSIM guide](/international-sim/united-arab-emirates/) puts the eSIM rows beside the short-trip packs.

| Trip | Jio | Airtel | Vi | Our eSIM (data only) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UAE, 4–5 days | ₹951 · 10 days · 4 GB, 100 + 100 min; Gulf ₹898 · 7 days · 1 GB (see the gaps below) | ₹998 · 5 days · 4 GB, 150 min | ₹2,695 · 4 days · 4 GB; Ultra ₹3,495 · 7 days, data FREE | ≈ ₹334 (12 Oct rate) · 1 GB · 7 days |
| Thailand, 7 days | Data ₹599 · 7 days · 1 GB, no calls; ₹951 · 10 days · 4 GB with calls | ₹998 · 5 days · 4 GB; ₹1,298 · 10 days · 6 GB | South Asia ₹1,899 · 5 days · 1 GB a day; Ultra ₹3,495 · 7 days, data FREE | ≈ ₹286 (12 Oct rate) · 1 GB · 7 days |
| Japan, 14 days | ₹1,551 · 14 days · 8 GB, with calls | ₹2,998 · 30 days · 10 GB | Ultra ₹5,195 · 14 days · 5 GB, 500 min; Budget ₹1,495 · 15 days · 2 GB | ≈ ₹909 (12 Oct rate) · 5 GB · 30 days |
| USA, 15 days | ₹1,555 · 15 days · 12 GB | ₹2,998 · 30 days · 10 GB | Ultra ₹5,195 · 14 days, data FREE; Budget ₹1,495 · 15 days · 2 GB | ≈ ₹1,579 (12 Oct rate) · 10 GB · 30 days |
| Saudi Arabia, 30 days | ₹2,891 · 30 days · 10 GB; ₹3,999 · 30 days · 20 GB | ₹2,998 · 30 days · 10 GB | Haj ₹1,199 · 20 days · 2 GB; ₹2,388 · 40 days · 4 GB | ≈ ₹2,106 (12 Oct rate) · 10 GB · 30 days |
| Nepal, 7 days | World Pack ₹1,499 · 14 days · 2 GB; data ₹599 · 7 days · 1 GB | ₹998 · 5 days · 4 GB; ₹1,298 · 10 days · 6 GB | Ultra ₹3,495 · 7 days · 2 GB; Budget ₹755 · 5 days · 1 GB, no calls | ≈ ₹478 (12 Oct rate) · 1 GB · 7 days |
| Maldives, 7 days | No data pack | ₹998 · 5 days · 4 GB; ₹1,298 · 10 days · 6 GB | Ultra ₹3,495 · 7 days · 2 GB; Budget Set 2 ₹755 · 5 days · 500 MB, no calls | ≈ ₹957 (12 Oct rate) · 1 GB · 7 days |
| Annual | Annual ₹2,799 · 365 days · 3 GB | ₹4,999 · 365 days · 7 GB | ₹2,997 · 1.5 GB or ₹4,997 · 5 GB (Set 1) | Per-trip plans on each country page |

Source: Jio's [plan list](https://www.jio.com/selfcare/plans/mobility/prepaid-plans-list/?category=International%20Roaming&categoryId=SW50ZXJuYXRpb25hbCBSb2FtaW5n), Airtel's [T&C](https://assets.airtel.in/static-assets/online-recharge-ui/assets/pdf/tnc.pdf), Vi's [prepaid T&C](https://www.myvi.in/content/dam/vodafoneideadigital/ir/Vi_VF_Prepaid_TnC.pdf), checked 12 Oct 2026. Vi's annual packs give 25 minutes and no data in the UAE.

Your card is charged in US dollars. Your bank converts the amount at its own rate and may add a foreign-transaction (forex markup) fee. [How card payments work](/how-to-pay/).

Same price does not mean the same allowance. Vi's Ultra ₹3,495 pack lists data as FREE in the 40-country zone, which includes the UAE, Thailand and the USA. In Japan, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Canada, Switzerland, China and South Korea the same Ultra packs give 2 to 5 GB. Trip pages: [UAE](/roaming/united-arab-emirates/), [Thailand](/roaming/thailand/), [Japan](/international-sim/japan/), [USA](/roaming/united-states/), [Saudi Arabia](/roaming/saudi-arabia/), [Nepal](/roaming/nepal/), [Maldives](/international-sim/maldives/).

## Where each operator has a gap

Jio sells no data pack for the Maldives, Bhutan, Georgia or Kenya. Vi caps its Ultra IR pack at 2 to 5 GB outside 40 countries. Airtel lists one pack set for every covered country, so its gap is price, not coverage. Checked 13 Oct 2026.

**Jio.** Maldives and Bhutan appear only in Jio's Global Pack balance, which is spent at standard roaming rates, not in any data pack. Georgia is not in that list either. Jio's description of the Gulf pack says UAE only, while another note on the same page lists six Gulf countries. Confirm in the MyJio app before you rely on it outside the UAE.

**Airtel.** One set of packs covers every country on Airtel's list; Airtel advertises 189 countries. That fills the three rows where Jio sells no data pack. On short trips it costs you: no prepaid pack lasts 7 days.

**Vi.** Zones decide the data allowance. The ₹3,495 · 7 days pack lists data as FREE in the UAE and gives 2 GB in the Maldives. Budget packs split again: the Maldives, Bhutan and Georgia sit in Set 2, where the ₹755 pack gives 500 MB.

## Rules that change the bill: booking window, validity start, no pack

Jio vs Airtel vs Vi roaming rules differ in three places that change pack validity and the bill: how early you may buy, when the days start, and what happens with no pack. An Airtel prepaid pack expires unrefunded if you do not travel within 30 days of booking. Checked 13 Oct 2026.

| Rule | Jio | Airtel | Vi |
|---|---|---|---|
| Book ahead | Not stated in our sources; check the MyJio app | Prepaid up to 30 days, postpaid up to 365 days | Up to 180 days in the Vi App, 90 days on the website |
| Days start | Jio states: "Your plan validity begins only with your first usage—call, text, or data." | Prepaid: when your phone latches on to a covered foreign network and makes chargeable usage; ₹4,999 runs from purchase | Not stated in our sources |
| No pack | Check the MyJio app | Prepaid data is barred; after a pack, calls cost ₹10 a minute and SMS ₹5 | Mobile data stays off (RoamSafe); SMS "ACT IRDATA" to 199 turns it on for 2 days at standard rates |

## Calls and OTPs: when a pack beats a data eSIM

A pack beats a data eSIM when you need calls on your Indian number. Most packs include minutes: Airtel ₹998 gives 150, Jio ₹1,551 gives 100 out and 100 in. Jio's ₹599 data pack and Vi's ₹755 Budget pack have none.

Pick the pack for a short trip with calls to India. Pick a data eSIM for maps, rides and messaging: install it in India and it connects when you land abroad. Use both if you want OTPs. The [Thailand eSIM guide](/international-sim/thailand/) sets that choice out for one destination.

Bank OTPs arrive as SMS on your Indian number, and our eSIM cannot receive them. A pack promises nothing either: SMS works only if roaming SMS works on your plan, and no page can promise that every OTP abroad will reach you. Keep your Indian number active: leave the Indian SIM in the phone with its data off; the [OTP guide](/help/keep-indian-sim-for-otp/) has the settings. Pilgrim trips: [Hajj and Umrah eSIM guide](/hajj-umrah-esim/).

## Prepaid vs postpaid, and circles where packs are not sold

Prepaid vs postpaid IR rules differ by operator. Jio sells the same packs to prepaid and postpaid customers. Airtel and Vi do not. Airtel's postpaid packs start at ₹2,999 for 10 days (₹2,599 for 7 days in Maharashtra). Vi's postpaid table starts at ₹649 for 1 day. Check your plan type before you read a row.

Airtel postpaid has two grids and a day-by-day safety net called Roam-Without-Fear; the [Airtel postpaid page](/roaming/airtel/postpaid/) covers both. We could not confirm that Vi's postpaid country table is current: its PDF says future-date requests raised for old packs as of 15 May 2026 keep the old benefits. Some postpaid and annual plans now bundle a few days of roaming — check your plan in the Airtel or Vi app before you travel.

Circles matter for Vi. Its prepaid terms state "IR packs are not applicable for customers in J&K, Assam and North East", and prepaid international roaming is not available at all in Assam and North East. Check the Vi App first.

## Sources

Checked on 13 Oct 2026 (IST).

1. [Jio international roaming plan list, prepaid](https://www.jio.com/selfcare/plans/mobility/prepaid-plans-list/?category=International%20Roaming&categoryId=SW50ZXJuYXRpb25hbCBSb2FtaW5n) and [postpaid](https://www.jio.com/selfcare/plans/mobility/postpaid-plans-list/?category=International%20Roaming&categoryId=SW50ZXJuYXRpb25hbCBSb2FtaW5n)
2. [Jio international services](https://www.jio.com/jcms/international-services/)
3. [Airtel prepaid and postpaid IR terms and conditions, dated 24 Sep 2026](https://assets.airtel.in/static-assets/online-recharge-ui/assets/pdf/tnc.pdf)
4. [Airtel international roaming packs page](https://www.airtel.in/ir-packs/)
5. [Vi prepaid international roaming T&C](https://www.myvi.in/content/dam/vodafoneideadigital/ir/Vi_VF_Prepaid_TnC.pdf)
6. [Vi postpaid international roaming T&C](https://www.myvi.in/content/dam/vodafoneideadigital/ir/Vi_Postpaid_IR_T&C.pdf)
7. [Vi international roaming packs page](https://www.myvi.in/international-roaming-packs)

## FAQ

### Which Indian SIM is best for international roaming?

There is no best international roaming plan in India for every trip. Counting the shortest pack that lasts each trip, on 12 Oct 2026 Jio has the lowest price per GB on the USA and Japan rows and on 30 days in Saudi Arabia, Airtel on the UAE, Thailand, Nepal and Maldives rows, and Vi sells the only 40-day Haj pack.

### Jio vs Airtel international roaming: which is better?

It depends on the trip. Jio's ₹1,555 pack gives 12 GB for 15 days in the US, about ₹130 per GB. Airtel's ₹1,298 pack gives 6 GB for 10 days in any covered country, about ₹216 per GB. Jio sells no data pack for the Maldives, Bhutan or Georgia.

### What is the cheapest international roaming plan in India?

For voice and data, Jio's ₹589 pack for 1 day and 1 GB is the lowest price among the rows we checked on 12 Oct 2026; Airtel's cheapest prepaid pack is ₹698 and Vi's 1-day prepaid pack is ₹695. Cheaper add-ons, such as Jio's ₹195 in-flight roaming pack, are not trip packs.

### Is a travel eSIM cheaper than an Airtel, Jio or Vi pack?

It depends on the trip and the data you need. Compare the pack row checked on 12 Oct 2026 with the eSIM price for the same days and GB. Packs include minutes on your Indian number; our data eSIM does not. The calculator on the roaming page puts both side by side.

### Can I use my Indian SIM abroad without a pack?

A Jio, Airtel or Vi SIM works once international roaming is on, but for mobile data plan on a pack. Without one, Airtel bars prepaid data abroad and Vi keeps mobile data off. For Jio, check the MyJio app. Airtel postpaid applies Roam-Without-Fear after ₹698 of charges in a day.